DIY Wood Cover Guestbook

We completed our guestbook…finally. We’ve been working on this project since October, but haven’t spent much time on it. We saw a picture on pinterest of a wood photo book and the wheels turned. We began on a smaller photo book, using the screws, but we decided to make this into a guestbook. I purchased 12″ x 12″ scrapbook inserts in the plastic covers and some screws made for photobooks (like the ones we took off of the other album). I’m going to put photo corners on the pages and have everyone sign the pages. I liked other ideas for guestbooks, i.e. a guestbook thumb print tree, keys to success jar, etc. etc. but I don’t have the room on my walls or in my cabinets to keep things like that, so I went with a nice coffee table photo album that can function as a guestbook and our wedding album. We bought some wood from Home Depot, cut it into 12″ x 13″ squares and went to work.

We made the wood squares a little bit bigger than the scrapbooking pages.

The scrapbook pages and the screws we got from Michaels…

We stenciled the written stuff in pencil and did some wood burning.

Punched some holes in the wood with a leather hole punch (but a battery drill would work good) and put the screws and pages in.


For the hinges, we used an old leather belt. We cut two pieces to be the hinges with scissors and burned the edges to blacken them a little so they didn’t look freshly cut. Instead of punching a whole in the leather and putting the screw in the leather to attach it to the wood, we devised another plan. It would be too thick to fit the leather, the pages and the wood all in one screw. So, we attached the pages with the screw and used upholstery tacks to attached the leather hinges.

The screw is concealed under the leather.
And this is what it looks like on the other side (the inside). The tacks are hammered down and the pages will go on that bolt and be screwed in.
The cover piece of wood doesn’t have the screws, only the upholstery nails as seen in this photo. The pages are now in and the screws are in.
Now for some cover work. We made a snap to close the book from the same belt.
Finished product. :D
7 thoughts on “DIY Wood Cover Guestbook

  1. You two are amazingly creative! I’m looking forward to all the wonderful things you have created for your wedding. Went shopping with Julie & Anna for wedding clothes yesterday. I think our family is ready now for the big celebration. See you soon.

  2. This is often an amazing blog page, thanks a lot in this.
    I had that will the search engines to get various several hours to search for this place.

    I loathe anytime whenever I bing intended for content that
    will surf I really commonly learn nugatory articles in addition to
    much unsolicited mail.
    People obviously decide treatment solution associated with the vast majority of unsolicited
    mail as well as preserve your website clean
    up plus premium quality. Would you have any regulations with regard
    to my personal blog site?

  3. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Outstanding work! afbfeekdaefe

  4. I am interested in creating a similar guest book for my wedding! I may just be missing something or it could be that I’m not familiar with the kind of screws you used to hold it together, but how does this open? Do the screws go through from the front cover, through the pages and through the back cover? If so it doesn’t seem like it would lay flat, but if not it doesn’t seam like it would hold together well. Please let me know!

What did you think of that? Please leave a reply!

