Work it.

I had a really good night at the climbing gym. I felt stronger than usual and I haven’t been at the gym all week, that’s including the regular gym too. I have felt terrible all week, struggling to get up early and just feeling lethargic. I pigged out on food this week too, so I feel really out of shape at the moment. Tonight came as a surprise.

Right now I’m in the middle of writing my masters thesis and the rough draft is due in less that two months. Yikes. So I’m really having to cut out unnecessary time expenditures (like writing a blog…). I have considered how much time I spend climbing and a friend of mine made an excellent point tonight. Climbing is one of those all consuming things. First you go to the gym, then you climb outside. First its once a week, then its once during the week and once on the weekend. Then its every single spare moment. In addition to all this time spent actually climbing, there is the tendency to spend every other spare moment on the computer looking at climbing clips on Vimeo or reading climbing blogs… I’m realizing that right now I have to cut back. My friend suggested that I cut out all of the interweb climbing stuff rather than cutting out actually climb time. I think I will do just that and will also limit my climbing during the week to once or twice, both short.

However, I will continue to go to the gym every morning like I usually do. I can continue to contribute to my climbing performance by really concentrating on doing work outs that will benefit climbing. I’ve started to gather some specific work outs and I will continue to gather more. Being a woman, I have poor upper body strength, so focusing on this problem is huge. My goal is to be able to do a pull-up by the beginning of Summer. In addition to this, I want to lose about 10 more pounds. I’d also like to be able to hang on a campus board for at least 5, 10 second intervals. I’m almost at 10 seconds… just one interval. I’ve got my work cut out for me and I think this will suffice until I get this thesis done with.

I found a great website that has a ton of information about weightlifting and tons of other stuff. Each work out has a small clip that shows you how to do it. It’s amazing! I’ll be referencing this quite a bit.

Enjoy!

What did you think of that? Please leave a reply!

