Holy Crepes!

One of my good friends is a chef. Yes, a chef. What is that like you say? It’s awesome. 
 I had the privilege of being his sous chef for the evening, a regular past time of mine. The above dessert was put in my charge. Unfortunately, the ice cream melted, but he made beautiful home made nutella to go with the  crêpes. He requested that I displace some of the water in the crêpes with Brandy and sure enough, it was a hit. 
I’ve learned a ton from being his sous chef. Everything from wicked knife skills, to just plain making amazing mashed potatoes. He’s taught me that salt pushes flavors forward, so if you can’t taste something in what you’ve made, chances are adding salt will bring out the flavor. You can never have to much cream, butter or salt. Never be shy with these things (Obviously, I don’t abide by these rules on a daily basis or I would be as big as a house! Strictly for entertainment purposes.). That night, I rolled cannelloni and folded a puff pastry over brie and berries, among many other random duties. 
Cannelloni

Red Thai Curry Butternut Squash Soup with Creme Fraiche.  

Duck Confit in a Puff Pastry Cup

Shepard’s Pie and Parmesan Mashed Potatoes

Other side: Lame Chop’s

Puff Pastry filled with Brie and Berries, surrounded by an assortment of cheeses and honeycomb
Watching Alex work makes me want to make small plates. Getting creative with sauces and whipping them over the plates. He makes it look way too easy. 
One thought on “Holy Crepes!

What did you think of that? Please leave a reply!

